TheUrbanDaddy: At Home Alone

MsUrbanDaddy has taken the UrbanDaddy girls to see their grandparents.

So I’m on my own for a few days.

This might be a good time to do a Catch-up. A fix-up. A sort-out-and-file-away. The list of tedious, sundry tasks, long put off in the cause of domestic fire-fighting, can no longer be excused or denied.

Except, they can. Of course they bloody can!

When a man such as myself  (be-wifed and childrenised, as writer Tim Lott so accurately frames it) gets some extended time alone, he is bound to use it in the most solipsistic way possible. It may be years before he gets another chance! So have I ditched the domestic to-do-list, for some good old-fashioned slobbing?

As it happens, the old, feral ways don’t come quite as naturally as they used to. Don’t pin any medals on me, the house could do with a tidy. But mess just isn’t so easy to ignore any more and true solipsism requires regular practice, if you’re to be any good at it.

Me? I’m out of shape. I’ve lost some technique. Lost some of the tools, too. There hasn’t been a games console in the house for years but that’s more of a personal choice. My ‘home alone’ recreation was always to drag out a guitar and a USB keyboard. One long night, about a thousand takes and, maybe, I’d have a chorus. It’s been a good couple of years since I did one of those nights!

Still, there’s plenty of time for a bit of Garageband as TheUrbanDaddy family isn’t due to be reunited until Saturday. When I find the cable for that pre-amp, I’m good to go.

I’ve just got a few things to do first…

Leave a Reply

